Our History

In 1992, 16 community leaders convened to lay the foundation for the future of leadership in Thurston County. Their objective was to develop a renewable pool of informed, skilled and engaged civic leaders committed to making the South Sound a great place to live, work and play. The result was Leadership Thurston County, a program of the Thurston County Chamber Foundation, a 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization.

Beginning with first Class of 1994, LTC graduates have forged a community legacy. They serve as executives in their workplaces, board members of charitable and civic organizations, public officials, and community volunteers. Although they come from a variety of backgrounds, they share a passion and commitment for improving our community.

Leadership Thurston County Founding Members

Linda Buckner, Chair
Joseph Beaulieu
Lynn Brunton
Rex Derr
Justice Jim Dolliver
Nancy Hoff
Gene Liddell
Bob Lovely
Kenneth Minneart
Ron Rants
Charles Shelan
Vernon Stoner
Joe Taller
Ellen Vaughn
Neil Woody
Dan Yerrington

Photo above featuring original LTC Chair Linda Buckner & Chamber President Joseph Beaulieu in 1994 at the first class Closing Retreat.

Contact Us

Administration Office
809 Legion Way / Olympia, WA 98501
Mailing Address
PO Box 1427 / Olympia, WA 98507
Phone: 360.357.8515
Fax: 360.357.3376
Email: [email protected]


"I had heard so many positive comments from others about the LTC that I had to do this for myself!  It was so worth it for me, my company and I plan to share with others.  LTC allowed me the opportunity to see the inner-workings of so many other companies located and thriving within Thurston County.  This will allow me to continue the see the “bigger picture” and create more opportunities for our staff and company!" - 2020 LTC Grad

June 24, 2020